Friday, December 19, 2008


I woke today at 4 am. I don't LIKE to wake at 4 am and yet almost every day I do. If I don't generally one of the dogs will make sure I don't sleep much later.

However, today we were expecting a snow storm. As usual I waited to see if school would be closed. Every school around us was closed, but ours decided to wait until 15 minutes before the bus would normally be here to report that. Typical, yes? At any rate I had decided to keep Pony Jr. home whether they canceled school or not. If every other school for miles around is closed I do not want her on the roads. So at least SOMEONE got to sleep in today!

I suppose I should introduce myself. My friends call me Pony, so I guess you all might as well call me that, too. I'm closing in rapidly on 40. I have a teenage daughter from my first marriage. I have a husband who is 7 years younger and a foot taller than I am. I have two dogs, one of which is bald. I used to be an artist until my arms went weird on me. I have too many cats. I don't have as many horses as I would like, and the ones I have aren't even big enough to make a meal should the apocalypse come any time soon. But they are darn cute.

I live on 13+ acres in rural Michigan about an hour and a half due north of Detroit. I'm surrounded by corn fields, dirt roads, and interesting people that I do my best to avoid most of the time. I make gourd crafts, and last year I grew my own gourds and I have them drying for future use.

I love to read. I play World of Warcraft. I can't stand kids aside from my own. I love to go with my husband to the Sportsman Club where we are members and hang out while the guys shoot their blackpowder rifles. I'm fascinated by ship wrecks, and the Great Lakes, and ghost stories. But mostly I love horses. Dogs, too, but mostly horses.

That is me, in a nutshell. The highlights I suppose you could say.

No comments:

Post a Comment